Brief Introduction of Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law came into existence in 1970 when the University was established. Initially it was housed in D.A.V. School, Middle Bazar. Later on it was shifted to Ava Lodge, Chaura Maidan where it remained functional upto 1983. The Faculty was relocated in the University campus in 1984 and finally shifted to its own building in 1993. Since its inception the faculty has been actively engaged in imparting legal education, training and legal research benefiting students desirous of pursuing their career in law. The Faculty has a distinction of producing some best professionals, statesmen and officers rendering useful service to the nation. Its Alumni include Judges of High Courts, Union Cabinet Ministers, State Cabinet Ministers, , Senior Bureaucrats, Police Officers, officers of subordinate judiciary, law officers, civil servants and members of the legal profession.  Law graduates from this Faculty are serving all over the country in the lower Courts, High Courts and Supreme Court.

List of Department Associated with Faculty of Law :.

  • Department of Laws, H.P. University, Shimla
  • School of Legal Studies RC Dharamshala
  • University Institute of Legal Studies Chaura Maidan, Shimla
  • Eight private Law Colleges established in Himachal Pradesh

Contact Detail:

Prof. Rajinder Verma , Department of Laws


Contact No :  0177-2833889