From Chairman's Desk
Prof. Jyoti Prakash, Chairman

Prof. Jyoti Prakash, Chairman

Department of Mathematics & Statistics, H. P. University, Shimla, was established in the year 1970 under the dynamic leadership of Padam Bhushan Professor P. L. Bhatnagar.  Over the years the department has carved out a niche in the academic world.  Professor M. B. Banerjee was awarded the “Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar  prize for Science and Technology” in Mathematical Sciences in the year 1988,  the highest award in Science in India.  Professor S. N. Dube, Professor M. B. Banerjee and Professor R. C. Sharma have been conferred the fellowship of National Academy of Sciences (F.N.A. Sc.). Teachers from the department have also shouldered the administrative responsibilities of the University.  Professor P.L. Bhatnagar and Professor J. R. Gupta were Deans of Studies.

At present ten teachers are working in the Department : Professor Joginder Singh Dhiman, Professor Rajesh Sharma, Professor Khem Chand, Professor P. L. Sharma, Professor Jyoti Prakash, Associate Professor Dr. (Mrs.) Shalini Gupta, Associate Professor Dr. (Mrs.) Pushap Lata Sharma, Assistant Professor Dr.(Mrs.) Madhu Dadhwal, Assistant Professor Dr.(Mrs.) Mansi Harish and Assistant Professor Ms. Mehak Mahajan.

Presently, the Department is offering M.Sc. (Mathematics) two years postgraduate degree, M.Phil. (Mathematics) one year postgraduate degree and Ph.D. (Mathematics) degree. The Department has also started with Post Graduate Diploma in Ancient Indian Mathematics and Certificate Course in Vedic Mathematics under the Centre for Indian Mathematics from the session 2021-22.
Over the years more than 120 students have completed their Ph.D. degree from the department.  The faculty members are dedicatedly working in the research areas of Continuum Mechanics, Algebra, Matrix Analysis and Cryptography. All the teachers of the Department are actively engaged in publishing their research work in the Journals of National and International reputes. They are also visiting other institutions for delivering talks and lectures at national and international level.

In recognition of the quality of the research work and other academic activities, Department has been awarded Special Assistance Programme by UGC at the DRS-I level from the years 2009 to 2014 and DRS-II level from the years 2015 to 2020.  

In the process of beautification of Department, Murals of Great Mathematicians have been engraved on the walls of corridor of the Department. The renovation work has also been carried out in the year 2021.

 The department aims to retain excellence in the fields of research and academics.

Name: Prof. Jyoti Prakash
Designation:Chairman, Department of Mathematics & Statistics,

Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla-5

E-mail:, Phone No : 0177-2833770