About the Department

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics started in 1971 under the dynamic leadership of Padma Bhushan Professor P.L. Bhatnagar.   Over the years the Department has made its mark in the academic world and has carved a niche in the scientific world. Many stalwarts mathematicians later choose to serve the Department and to pursue the quality teaching and research which include Professor S.N. Dube, Professor M.B. Banerjee, Professor R.C. Sharma, Professor B.B. Sharma, Professor K.S. Shirkot, Professor S.K. Gupta, Professor J.R. Gupta.  Later on Professor R.G. Shandil, Dr. K.C. Sharma, Professor M.G. Gorla & Professor Kirti Prakash also joined the Department.   One of the teachers of the Department, Professor M.B. Banerjee was conferred with the prestigious Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar  Award in Mathematical Sciences in the year 1988.  Professor S.N. Dube, Professor M.B. Banerjee and Professor R.C. Sharma have been conferred Fellowships of National Academy of Science. 

Annually, more than 50 students are being enrolled for P.G. degree in Mathematics.  Over the years more than 150 students have completed their Ph.D. degrees in Mathematics and more than 200 students have successfully awarded M.Phil. Degrees in Mathematics from the University. 

In recognition of large number of national and international research publications by the faculty members and other academic initiatives, the Department has been selected by the UGC for Special Assistance Programme (SAP DRS-I) in the year 2009 for five years.  On the basis of the performance in the field of research areas of the Continuum Mechanics and Algebra, the assessment committee of UGC upgraded the Special Assistance Programme from DRS level-I to DRS Level-II in the year 2015 for next five years with an initial grant of Rs.108 lacs.

Last Updated