## Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla – 171005 Department of Journalism and Mass Communication

## Proceedings of the meeting of (P.G.) Board of Studies in Journalism and Mass Communication held on 27<sup>th</sup> December 2019 at 11.00 a.m.

## in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, HP University

The following were present:

Dr. Vikas Dogra	Professor, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, H.P.
	University – Chairman
Mr. Jagwinder Patial	Executive Editor, ABP News, Chandigarh – External Expert
Dr. Shashi Kant	Professor, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, H.P.
	University – Member
Dr. Ashutosh Mishra	Dean and Professor (Journalism and Mass Communication), Chitkara
	University, Rajpura, Punjab – External Expert

The following items were discussed and decisions taken:

Items 1: To update the norms and syllabus of the Master of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communication i.e. MA(JMC).

**Decision:** After a detailed discussion the members recommended the updates to the norms and syllabus of Master of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communication i.e. MA(JMC) as per Annexure A to be applicable w.e.f. Academic Session 2020-21.

## Item 2: To recommend the norms and syllabus for the entrance test for admission to Ph.D. in Journalism and Mass Communication w.e.f. Academic Session 2019-20.

**Decision:** After a detailed discussion the members recommended that all courses of MA(JMC) from Semesters I to III, except the practical courses (i.e. Practical – 1 (MJMC106PR), Practical – 2 (MJMC206PR), and Practical -3 (MJMC306PR)), shall constitute the syllabus for the entrance test for admission to Ph.D. in Journalism and Mass Communication w.e.f. Academic Session 2019-20. The entrance test shall be of Multiple Choice Questions of one mark each. The entrance test shall be of 100 marks with at least 50% as qualifying marks (45% in case of SC/ST/PwD candidates). All other rules/regulations of the Himachal Pradesh University for admission to Ph.D. shall be applicable.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Ashutosh Mishra)

(Shashi Kant)

(Jagwinder Patial)

(Vikas Dogra)